3 Indispensable Recruiting Tricks I Learned From Dave Ramsey

Photo Credit: thetaxhaven, Creative Commons

I have owned my own business for 5 years and I thought I knew how to hire people. Then I looked back at my record, and realized how wrong I was.

I learned a lot from Dave Ramsey and his team this spring. My wife and I went to his EntreLeadership course in Tucson in May.
One of the biggest things I learned was a hiring process.

In my past, I had hired and let several people go in my few short years in business. I never felt (with a couple of exceptions) I had the right people on board. I had learned early on, that if someone didn’t fit, that I shouldn’t hold onto them for too long. I knew they could do a lot of damage to my business. But I almost always ended up in the┬ásame situation a few months later after we had hired somebody else.
To borrow a metaphor from Jim Collins, I was good at getting the wrong people off the bus, but I kept inviting their friends right back on.
Dave Ramsey teaches in his book and lectures entitled EntreLeadership, that business owners need to:

1. Take more time hiring. Three or four times as long. And make it an involved process.
So what if you miss out on some opportunities on the way, because guess what: if you hire the wrong person too quickly, you will have to let them go and then start over anyway. I learned that I should take the time up front and avoid the turnover I had been experiencing.
Dave Ramsey also explains his process in-depth in his book, but I will share a couple of my favorites:
2. Do you like them?
I had hired people before that I did not want to invite over to my house. I didn’t want to spend extra time with them. Hello! If that wasn’t a clue, I don’t know how much clearer a sign I needed. Don’t waste time working with people you don’t like, especially if you hired them.
3. The spousal interview
In my last round of hiring, my wife and I took out our final candidates and their spouses to dinner. A double date, essentially. It was great, we got to see them interact in a social setting, and we got to see that they weren’t married to “crazy” as Dave Ramsey puts it.
We have worked hard in our business to develop a certain culture and we wanted to introduce new people who would respect and improve it, not drag it down. We succeeded in that regard so far, and actually like to have our team over to our house occasionally.

.

What successes or failures have you had hiring or being hired?

.

.

One Comment on “3 Indispensable Recruiting Tricks I Learned From Dave Ramsey”

  1. Too funny how easy it was to hire people the wrong people, all in an effort to be “professional”. I agree, learning this hiring process was worth the price of admission to Entreleadership!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers